Gaining Speed At What Cost?

Following our first 5K on March 17, Julie and I took a few days off from running. When we began again, we decided to concentrate on improving our speed prior to the Cinco de Mayo 5K we are running in Nashville.

That has been the focus in the weeks since then, and since I haven’t updated my loyal followers in a while, I thought today would be a great day for it.

I’m proud to say we have shaved nearly two minutes off our time for the mile, going from over 11 minutes per mile, to around 9.5 minutes per mile, fairly consistently. In talking to other runners who are of similar build to us (short), we are feeling pretty good about that speed.

Unfortunately, our focus on time has made our distance suffer.

Since returning to regular runs in late March, we have yet to run more than 2.5 miles (and even that distance had some walking between). I’ve decided it has to be the speed at which I’ve been pushing myself that is wearing me out so much. At this point, it’s all I can do to run a mile without stopping, which is a long way from where I need to be in just two weeks. This week was exceptionally bad; on Tuesday, I got overheated and nearly puked at the gym — which would have been disgusting and very embarrassing.

I’m feeling like it’s time to lay off on the speed and try to get back up to running 3 miles, but it will be sad to have that time go back up too. But not finishing in Nashville would be tragic.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

