They see me strollin’, they hatin’

We took a few days off from training last week. Not really on purpose, but we had to rearrange our running times as Julie lost her baby watchers for a few days.

It was probably just as well; I think I needed some recovering time after last week’s debacle.

I’m not sure how it was in the rest of the country, but in southeast Missouri, we had a taste of spring last week. Punxsutawney Phil was WAAAAAY off base for this neck of the woods. Last Thursday, we hit the mid-70s with a nice southerly wind and a sky full of sunshine. It was physically painful when I had to return to my office this afternoon.

A double stroller with two children can add a nice mixup to your regular running routine.

Anyway, because of the nice weather and the lack of available childcare, Julie and I chose to run outside with the children (a 3-year-old, and 1-year-old twins) in strollers. Now, don’t be thinking these strollers were the fancy, sporty, aerodynamic, 3-wheeled kind – no way – these babies are classics.

We met at the park after I got off work on Wednesday and set the clock for 28 minutes, our next workout. We started on the paved running trail; me with the single, she pushing the double, and quickly decided to switch at the halfway point to be fair.

Luckily, our part of the trail was fairly flat, but pushing those strollers made it feel like we were back on week four or five. It was like rolling boulders up a mountain.

You hear recommendations from trainers and such to vary your workout, to add in something new to confuse your body. I recommend pushing a 12-pound stroller holding an 8-pound diaper bag and two 22-pound baby girls. Talk about added resistance!

Something I noticed when pushing the double stroller was its tendency to move right and left. This extra strain made me keep my core tight the entire time — and boy did I feel it the next day!

Walking at a quick pace with the strollers was hard; running was torture. We would run until one of us couldn’t go any more, usually 1-2 minutes at a time, then walk to catch our breath before trying it again. It was a very hard workout.

The next night, we talked my sister into watching Julie’s kids so we could run unencumbered, again outside. This time we ran around Julie’s neighborhood, which was mostly flat with sidewalks and streetlights. Very safe. Although the first 15 minutes felt like an hour, the final 13 went by really quickly (though I was ready to stop).

We will resume our regular workouts and complete the Couch to 5K program this week, starting tomorrow!

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “They see me strollin’, they hatin’

  1. Chengen says:

    I remember running/jogging with a stroller. It’s truly amazing how much more of a workout a couple of children adds! The last time I ran a 5K with a double stroller, I think my boys were 5 and 3, my 5-year-old decided he wanted to be a part of the big boy club and run the last stretch with me.

  2. Summer Leniger says:

    haha sounds like an adventure!

  3. J9 STYLE says:

    The title of your post literally made me LOL. Love it!

  4. Julie says:

    So close!!!!

Leave a Reply

