Week 6, Day 1: Two Miles

I ran two miles today.

At least, I think I did. We weren’t counting laps, just minutes. And I ran for twenty of them, with five minutes of walking between.

I thought it would be worse. The 8-minute sets on Friday just about killed me. And Saturday and Sunday were even worse, but that was more Nike’s fault than the Couch to 5K. Julie and I decided we needed to do some arm toning exercises following the run. So, I pulled up my handy-dandy Nike Training Club app and chose the “Sculpted Arms” workout — sounds great, right?

It wasn’t.

We lasted through two of the routines, frogger to shoulder press (horrendous) and side lunge with arm curl (pretty awful). Thanks to that 90 seconds of misery, I was so sore all weekend that it hurt to even sit down. Obviously, not too great of an arm workout.

I digress.

Today, however, was a completely different story. I was no longer sore and my feet felt great. I had adequate sleep all weekend and had not exercised since Zumba on Saturday morning. Also, I had carbo-loaded on yummy Super Bowl foods until way too late on Sunday night. I’m thinking this is a great strategy for the Midnight 5K, by the way.

The 10-minute runs went by much faster than I thought. I think I could’ve made it even a few more laps. We didn’t run at a really fast pace; I’m guessing around 5.5-6 mph (hopefully it was at least that speed).

While stretching, we talked to a guy we see running at Fitness Plus pretty regularly (he laps us a lot). He told us about another 5K in April, during the Dogwood Azalea Festival in Charleston, Mo. If we make it through our first one, it might be nice to run when other people are awake too.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Week 6, Day 1: Two Miles

  1. Jennifer says:

    Sculpting my arms never sounds fun, but I would like the results!

  2. Emily says:

    Well, don’t try the routine we did. No arm sculpting, just butt busting (not that it’s a bad thing, just not what we were looking for).

Leave a Reply

