Why do I run?

Some people run in support of noble causes … breast cancer awareness, civil rights or free speech. Some people run for personal achievement. Some even run for fun.

I am not one of those people.

I run (or exercise in any form) for one simple reason.

I love food; specifically, dessert. Cake, brownies, cupcakes, pie, cobbler, bars, ice cream, cookies — they are all close to my heart.

For that reason, coupled with the fact that I have been blessed with a short stature and slow metabolism, it takes work to keep from becoming a human ball of cookie dough.

In high school and college, I religiously attended an extreme aerobics class at my local YMCA. After graduating, I maintained that schedule for about a year, before moving out on my own. Now, since starting my job as a public relations professional at a busy hospital four years ago, I have easy access to a medically-integrated fitness center adjacent to my work and less than a block from my apartment.

It’s time to make this thing happen.

2 thoughts on “Why do I run?

  1. Sabrina R. says:

    Emily, running for dessert IS a noble cause, if you ask me. I was browsing around the fitness section on Pinterest a few days ago, and a picture got me thinking. It was a girl in work out skimpy clothes, and it said: nothing tastes as good as skinny feels (I believe this is exact quote. But if it’s not, believe me, it was pretty close). As mother of a little girl, I was slightly disturbed. Ok, very disturbed. Is this the model for our young children? Doesn’t this sound like somebody with an eating disorder? So, you may not run for world peace or to end poverty and hunger in Sub-Saharan Africa, but you are certainly demonstrating balance and a life style model that I hope my daughter will follow too someday. Job well done, Emily, and good luck on your 5K. Maybe I will give it a shot too…tomorrow ; )!

    • Emily says:

      Thanks for your kind words, Sabrina! And for such a nice outlook — I like the way you think. And that quote (it’s attributed to Kate Moss, I believe) needs to be forgotten. It is a horrible worldview; taking what should be a delight and turning it into a deviancy.

Leave a Reply

